From Thought to deed!
From Thought to deed!
"Winning Earthlet from Future Shock competition at Thought Bubble convention revealed…"

The latest generation of talent put themselves before the steely gaze of The Mighty One during the artist portfolio competition at the Thought Bubble convention in Leeds at the weekend.

There could be only one winner as artists competed to win the honour of drawing a Future Shock for the Galaxy’s Greatest Comic. From dozens of entries, editorial droid Matt Smith chose eight to go before a panel consisting of 2000 AD legends Frazer Irving, Simon Fraser, Rob Williams and Peter Doherty. The panellists went through each portfolio – based on the same Future Shock script – and gave entrants the benefit of their years of experience as Tharg’s minions.

And the winning Earthlet was … Mr Will Morris!

Will’s victory came with the narrowest of margins as the panel was tied between him and last year’s runner-up, Tom Foster. It was down to the audience to decide and, with his supporters edging the cheering contest, Will came out on  top … just! He will now enter the hallowed ranks of those artists lucky enough to be published in 2000 AD.

Tharg paid tribute to all those who entered and especially to all those who made it through to the panel: Bruno Stahl, Rachel Stott, Jon Taylor, Phillip Vaughn, Neil Williams and Luca Pizzari!

Thanks also go to the organisers of Thought Bubble, for their tireless support of 2000 AD and for giving us the opportunity to test Earth’s artistic metal!

Will Morris []

Tom Foster []

Michael Molcher

Tuesday 20th November 2012